Frequently Asked Questions
Is there a fee for written verification of licensure?
Yes, the fee is $10. Send a check or money order in the amount of $10 along with a written request or specified verification form to: NDSBRC, PO Box 2223, Bismarck, ND 58502-2223. Process time is approximately one week.
Home care related questions
The State Board of Respiratory Care and members of its staff are not authorized to give legal advice or assistance to the general public. As a matter of policy this office does not undertake to advise potential marketers or promoters of products as to all possible laws they have to comply with in doing business in this state. To do so has on occasion resulted in situations where businesses assumed they had somehow received clearance or approval by the State Board of Respiratory Care to transact such business or use such promotional techniques. While many businesses, of course, simply wish to be in compliance with the laws that may affect them, we nevertheless can only advise that North Dakota laws be examined or consultation with legal counsel familiar with the applicable laws be made. However, we do offer the following discussion for your assistance.
The North Dakota Administrative Code provides as follows:
105-03-01-02. Home medical equipment and delivery. North Dakota Century Code chapter 43-42 prohibits the setup and instruction of medical devices related to the practice of respiratory care, gases, and equipment by a nonlicensed health care professional. The delivery and maintenance of medical devices related to the practice of respiratory care, gases, and equipment by a nonlicensed health care professional for the expressed purpose of self-care by a patient or gratuitous care by a friend or family member in the home or extended care facility is permitted.
This maintenance or delivery by the nonlicensed person does not include performing patient assessment, having direct patient contact or patient care relating to home respiratory care, or representing oneself as a certifed or registered respiratory care practitioner.
If I am currently licensed in the State of North Dakota as a Certified Respiratory Therapist (CRT), and have recently passed my Registered Respiratory
Therapy (RRT) exam, when should I notify the NDSBRC?
Once you have received your RRT exam results, make a copy and send the results into the Board office. We will update your status and send you a license certificate stating you are licensed in the State of North Dakota as a Registered Respiratory Therapist. There is no charge to update your license.
If I am a Certified or Registered Respiratory Therapist and a Registered Polysomnography Technologist (RPSGT), do I need a North Dakota license for both?
No, as long as you have a license as a Certified or Registered Respiratory Therapist, you can work in either field.