North Dakota State Board of Respiratory Care January 14, 2021 Special Meeting- Conference Call NDSBRC Office, 2900 E. Broadway Ave., Ste. 2, Bismarck, ND Minutes

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 PM.

Present:

Board Members – Abby Erickson; Robyn Urlacher; Ron Frisk; Barbara Andrist; Amy Hinger; Jody Vogel.

Others -Nikki Owings, Board Office; Allyson Hicks, Legal Counsel; Jutta Schmidt.

Absent:

Dr. Karol Kremens.

Application for Initial Licensure:

Natasha Harvey (RPSGT license) – The Board entered executive session per NDCC 44-04-19.2 and NDCC 12-60-24 due to possible need for attorney consultation. The executive session began at 3:32 PM and those present were Erickson, Urlacher, Frisk, Vogel, Andrist, Hinger, and Hicks. The executive session ended at 3:40 PM.

A **motion was made** to grant licensure. (Urlacher/Andrist/carried) [Roll call vote: Urlacher(y); Frisk (y); Andrist (y); Hinger (y); Vogel(y); Erickson (y)] [Kremens absent]

Minutes:

A **motion was made** to approve the meeting minutes of January 4, 2021. (Frisk/Vogel/carried) [Roll call vote: Urlacher(y); Frisk (y); Andrist (y); Hinger (y); Vogel (y); Erickson (y)] [Kremens absent]

Insertion and Maintenance of Vascular Access Devices by RTs:

A **motion was made** to have legal counsel respond to inquiry, the Board cannot offer legal advice on the respiratory therapy scope of practice and the inquirer should consult with an attorney. (Andrist/Hinger/carried) [Roll call vote: Urlacher(y); Frisk (y); Andrist (y); Hinger (y); Vogel (y); Erickson (y)] [Kremens absent]

Fingerprinting Concerns:

Some applicants are having trouble getting fingerprinted due to the pandemic. The Board will recommend they get on waiting lists for fingerprinting. Legal counsel will visit with BCI regarding this issue.

{Hinger absent}

HB1166:

This bill is regarding foreign applicants who are residents of North Dakota. The Board will follow this bill. If it passes to the Senate, the Board will offer a position.

Adjourn:

Meeting adjourned at 4:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Abby Erickson, Chair