Initial Application Instructions

In accordance with Chapter 43-42 of the North Dakota Century Code, it is required that each Respiratory Therapist and Polysomnographic Technologist hold a valid North Dakota license in order to practice in the State of North Dakota. It is against the law to engage in the practice of respiratory care and polysomnographic technology without a valid license.

To apply for initial licensure, you must complete and submit the items listed below. Incomplete application forms will be returned to the sender. Once all required information is received by the Board office and reviewed, and if there is no cause for the application to go before the Board, the license is issued within 2 to 3 business days.

Application for Licensure- You may apply online or print a paper application form.

$80 Licensure fee (check or money order made out to NDSBRC if applying with paper form)

Submit to a statewide and nationwide criminal history record check. A request form and fingerprint cards will be mailed to you once your Application for Licensure and licensure fee are received by the Board office. (Previous background check reports may not be used as per the FBI. You must submit for a completely new background check.)

Photocopy of your BRPT Certificate or exam score.  You may e-mail or send by U.S. Post to NDSBRC Office.

Official transcript sent from school OR photocopy of diploma which is either NOTARIZED.  If you were office-trained, omit this requirement.  If your school/program is no longer in existence, please either contact the Board of Higher Education or the Board of Education in the state where you attended the program.  You may obtain the contact information by accessing www.statelocalgov.net/50states-education.cfm.

Education Verification Form (to be completed by the school and sent to NDSBRC office) (If you were office-trained, omit this requirement)  If your school/program is no longer in existence, please either contact the Board of Higher Education or the Board of Education in the state where you attended the program.  You may obtain the contact information by accessing www.statelocalgov.net/50states-education.cfm.

Completed License Verification Form from each state in which you are presently and/or were previously licensed. (Send this form to the state licensure body to complete and forward to the NDSBRC.)  If the state offers on-line verification only, please provide the website address for their on-line license verification by e-mailing it to the NDSBRC Office.

Resources Updated: 10/1/2020 11:20:51 AM